Art of Practice

I admire some of the prolific work of modernist architect Le Corbusier (1887-1965). But most of all, I admire the tremendous sense of discipline and practice he had about his art and architecture.

‘Since (November 1918) I haven’t stopped painting everyday, grabbing the secrets of form wherever I find them and developing my spirit of invention just as an acrobat daily trains his muscles and cultivates his skills.  I think that if people see anything in my work as an architect, the essential virtue is to be attributed to this secret striving.’ — Le Corbusier lui-meme

(from, Le Corbusier Le Grand, Jean-Louis Cohen, Tim Benton, 2008)tapisseries-recentes-le-corbusier05_le_corbusier_le_grand-620x465

Leave a Reply

